Recently we showed a clip on our instagrampage with the question: is this a personal foul in the act of shooting yes or no. The response was huge. Over 100 followers shared their opinion, and what do you know: people were not all on the same page.We had 74 voters for ´yes, act of shooting´ and 44 ´no, it´s not´.
Let´s check the clip again:
okay, I think we can agree that there is contact that influences the players in this situation right? So we rule out a no call.
What does the rule say?
Art. 15 Player in the act of shooting
15.1.1 A shot for a field goal or a free throw is when the ball is held in a player’s hand(s) and
is then thrown into the air towards the opponents’ basket.
A tap is when the ball is directed with the hand(s) towards the opponents’ basket.
A dunk is when the ball is forced downwards into the opponents’ basket with one or
A tap and a dunk are also considered as shots for a field goal.
15.1.2 The act of shooting:
• Begins when the player starts the continuous movement normally preceding the
release of the ball and, in the judgement of an official, he has started an attempt
to score by throwing, tapping or dunking the ball towards the opponents’ basket.
• Ends when the ball has left the player’s hand(s) and, in case of an airborne
shooter, both feet have returned to the floor.
During his act of shooting the player might have his arm(s) held by an opponent, thus
preventing him from scoring. In this case it is not essential that the ball leaves the
When a player is in the act of shooting and after being fouled he passes the ball off,
he is no longer considered to have been in the act of shooting.
There is no relationship between the number of legal steps taken and the act of
15.1.3 A continuous movement in the act of shooting:
• Begins when the ball has come to rest in the player’s hand(s) and the shooting
motion, usually upward, has started.
• May include the player’s arm(s) and/or body movement in his attempt to shoot
for a field goal.
• Ends when the ball has left the player’s hand(s), or if an entirely new act of
shooting is made.
So let’s get this straight: we have a shot for a fieldgoal. And there’s contact, but we have a player landing on only one foot. We can live with disagreement about the moment of contact: is player already on the floor with one foot yes or no? Is that still a player in act of shooting??
There’s an important addition in the rules that comes into play in this situation: Art. 33.6
A player who is in the air
A player who has jumped into the air from a place on the playing court has the right to land again at the same place.
He has the right to land on another place on the playing court provided that the landing place and the direct path between the take-off and landing place is not already
occupied by an opponent(s) at the time of take-off.
In this case: the defender has not yet taken the place where shooter is about to land. Therefore the contact is defenders responsability, and therefore we consider this one a foul in the act of shooting. So please: award 3 shots in this case.